Modok Gas
12-19-2006, 06:13 AM
Just received a spoof that I almost fell for in my inbox. I've been selling stuff on eBay lately, so I wasn't surprised to see what looked like an official eBay e-mail from a potential buyer asking a question.
The only thing that stopped me from hitting the "RESPOND NOW" button and logging in was I don't have anything to sell at the moment.
The message read:
"Hi seller,
I want to buy your item and I wanted to ask you if it is still available for selling. Please respond to my question as soon as possible. Thank You!"
The User Name it came from used to be legit too. (But it was recently closed down).
The RESPOND NOW button linked to started with http://mail.irna.net/signin.ebay.com/ws.......
Watch out and if you think you may have responded to one, quickly change your eBay password.
The only thing that stopped me from hitting the "RESPOND NOW" button and logging in was I don't have anything to sell at the moment.
The message read:
"Hi seller,
I want to buy your item and I wanted to ask you if it is still available for selling. Please respond to my question as soon as possible. Thank You!"
The User Name it came from used to be legit too. (But it was recently closed down).
The RESPOND NOW button linked to started with http://mail.irna.net/signin.ebay.com/ws.......
Watch out and if you think you may have responded to one, quickly change your eBay password.