PDA

View Full Version : Y the Last Man - cause of the plague SPOILERS FOR #51

Ben
11-08-2006, 04:56 PM
First, let me start off saying that I LOOOOOOOOOVE Y the Last Man. It's one of my favorite comics, and it's usually teh first one I read on week's when it's released.

But... I really hope there's more to the cause of the plague that Dr. Mann's father believes. Yeah, I'm a scientist and know about evolution and shit, so of course I'm going to find problems. But he basically says that nature wiped out men the instant they became unnecessary. And he uses some made up story about apes learning to use tools from another island's monkeys or something as another example of this. This never happens, though. Nature isn't a force. It's a nice literary idea, which is why I had no problem with the ape tool story when it first appeared a couple issues ago. But to have that really be behind everything... it just sounds like a writer's view of how nature really works. I'd be really disappointed if BKV didn't do any research beyond what the average person knows about biology.

It seems obvious that he's done tons of research into magic tricks and literature for other parts of this comic, so I'm relatively confident there's more to this. Afterall, this is just one guy's opinion of what the cause was. And once Dr. Mann is less out-of-it, I'm sure she'll present more holes in his hypothesis (she already blasted him for claiming that there's some intelligent force at work before her morphine kicked in. Not to mention the fact that (1) all mammals with a Y chromosome were killed in the plague and (2) sheep, cats, etc. didn't die when they were cloned (in the world of the comic - these species were cloned in the late 90s before humans and they weren't killed off by 'nature').