PDA

View Full Version : how long before Superman goes public domain?

Jacob Lyon Goddard
07-25-2005, 05:24 PM
and what happens then?

Ben Rosen
07-25-2005, 05:25 PM
dc will do something so it never happens.

ad all you poeple who care so dearly for continuity will just have no idea what to do.

sonnylarue
07-25-2005, 05:26 PM
the siegel & schuster superboy case is still going on.

Jacob Lyon Goddard
07-25-2005, 05:29 PM
i would LOVE to see Ted Turner do something with Superman, just to piss on AOL-Time/Warner's shoes

sonnylarue
07-25-2005, 05:30 PM
the sonny bono act (i kid you not) extended the current copyright law to stretch to 90 yerars, so 2028 might be the first possibilty that the supes look of 1938 would go to the PD, but the superman trademark will always be with time warner.

to put it in marvel terms, let's say the ditko drawn spidey image goes top public domain, but the bagely image marvel usues today, would still be trade marked.

(i'm not a lawyer, and expect this explanation would have sounded better, had it not come straight from my ass)

Blake Sims
07-25-2005, 05:31 PM
thats wierd cause isnt Night of the Living Dead considered public domain?

Jacob Lyon Goddard
07-25-2005, 05:32 PM
the sonny bono act (i kid you not) extended the current copyright law to stretch to 90 yerars,
ah, yes

Disney did that to prove to the world that if they fuck with Mickey Mouse, the US Congress will nuke you

Jamie Howdeshell
07-25-2005, 05:34 PM

nobody tried to stretch the rights. they lapsed.

Taxman
07-25-2005, 05:36 PM
the sonny bono act (i kid you not) extended the current copyright law to stretch to 90 yerars, so 2028 might be the first possibilty that the supes look of 1938 would go to the PD, but the superman trademark will always be with time warner.

to put it in marvel terms, let's say the ditko drawn spidey image goes top public domain, but the bagely image marvel usues today, would still be trade marked.