PDA

View Full Version : Homophobia, the F-word, and Progress

Patrick Gerard
08-05-2011, 02:08 PM
I was selling plasma at the plasma clinic a couple of weeks back (I'm a grad student, my income is fixed, I've been applying at jobs left and right to no avail yet) when this girl admitted she likes hanging out with gay guys and was talking about the local gay bar. I tensed up, unsure what would be said next.

You see, the plasma clinic doesn't accept plasma from gay men, which has always made me uneasy with where they might stand on general human rights stuff; it seems like an ignorant view to me. I remember thinking when I first signed up with them, "Do I want to do business with a discriminatory place of business?" Then I stopped and considered that the plasma would be used for treatments that benefit everyone and I was taking their money, not the other way around. (It kills me enough that I can't have Rockstar Cola without supporting Michael Savage's family; I like the stuff. I didn't know when I first started drinking it. I try to be a conscientious buyer. But selling? Not so much. I figure if I'm making money, it's a good thing.)

Anyway, there was one guy there in the waiting room who was offended that this girl goes to a gay club. He started arguing with her loudly about how disgusting he thought gay people were, how he was going to go out and get "his boy" to shut her up.

And a funny thing happened. One by one, people in the waiting room (these aren't wealthy people and a lot of them are pretty country) told the guy to calm down and shut up, that what he was saying wasn't appropriate or acceptable. He got angrier and angrier. A nurse leaned over the counter and told him he'd have to calm down or he couldn't sell plasma there. She paused. Then added, "You know what I think your problem with gay people is? They get laid more than you."