PDA

View Full Version : So is Scott Lobdell any good?

Nick Graham
06-09-2011, 10:01 PM
While I was hoping the DC relaunch would give opportunities to some lesser known writers who haven't picked up much buzz, it seems partially geared to give Bob Harras' buddies lots of new work, particularly Scott Lobdell. I'm all for cronyism if the crony in question is good, but I have zero experience with Lobdell's work. So...is he any good?

Kefky
06-09-2011, 10:02 PM
No good.

Jason California
06-09-2011, 10:04 PM
I remember his stuff fondly. I have not read anything he wrote since my early 20s though. I am 32.

Roman Noodles
06-09-2011, 10:14 PM
I loved Lobdell's books. His Gen X book is one of my favorite things ever. But I also really loved his Uncanny run. He wrote one of my favorite issues.

Some people hate him, but I am certainly not one and cannot wait to see what he comes up with.

Spidey616
06-09-2011, 10:16 PM
Haven't really read anything by him recently. Certainly left his mark on the X titles in the 90's giving us Generation X, Chamber, etc.

SteveFlack
06-09-2011, 10:16 PM
He wrote three really good issues of Fantastic Four once.

Nick Graham
06-09-2011, 10:20 PM
It just seems odd to me he's been basically languishing in obscurity (at least comics-wise) for the last few years, and now is on some pretty marquee books out of nowhere, so I was wondering if this was a case of inexplicably untapped talent finally getting tapped or "He's friends with Bob Harras and Jim Lee, end of story." Perhaps a bit of both?

Matthew Brown
06-09-2011, 10:25 PM
I'm going to give Red Hood and the Outlaws a shot, because I like Jason Todd and the premise seems solid. So I guess I'll see.

Your Pal, Carl
06-09-2011, 10:27 PM