PDA

View Full Version : Neil Gaiman's speaking fee is $45,000?

Rod Nunley
05-10-2010, 02:37 PM
http://blogs.citypages.com/blotter/2010/05/neil_gaimans_sp.php

Sandman author Neil Gaiman is under attack by the Minneapolis Star Tribune for charging $45,000 for a recent speaking engagement at a Stillwater public library.

Under the headline, "One author: $45,000 for an afternoon," the newspaper questioned the hefty fee for the "fantasy and science fiction writer," claiming that "some tongues in the library community are wagging in astonishment."

Wait, librarians are wagging their tongues? This must be a scandal!

The story was originally broken by Politics in Minnesota, which quoted one angry librarian wagging his or her tongue, but only after demanding anonymity.

"I am a librarian and on the library side, supposedly, but this makes my blood boil," the librarian said. "This is ridiculous. There are people who need food and who have lost their homes, and this is just plain disgusting."

In response, Gaiman explained his admittedly high fees on the Library Journal website:

Obviously I do a lot of speaking for free. The night before I'd done a pro bono 3 hour reading/Q&A as a benefit for the CBLDF in Chicago, in front of 1600 people, who had paid up to $250 a ticket to attend.

Four days before I'd done "An Evening With Neil Gaiman" internet talk with the Jessamine Public Library for nothing, because they asked me to, and because it was National Library Week (although they sent me a wonderful Kentucky nibbles gift basket as a thank you).

In fact most of the talks and appearances I do are for free.

But if you want to hire me to come in and talk, it's expensive.

My speaking fees are high. I keep them that way intentionally. Here's what it says on my website's Frequently asked questions. (http://www.neilgaiman.com/p/FAQs/Contacting,_Contracting,_Inviting,_Interviewing,_o r_Mailing_Neil)