PDA

View Full Version : Windows Vista or Windows 7?

cPol
07-27-2009, 05:28 AM
I realize Windows 7 isn't publically available yet, but there's always someone out there with non-publically-available info. So, question:

I bought a new PC over the weekend and am offered a free upgrade from Vista to 7. I use Vista lightly at work and have never had any problems with it. My wife uses it at home and so far, no complaints from either of us. Is it worth it to upgrade?

Foolish Mortal
07-27-2009, 05:54 AM
I'm no Windows expert, but from what I hear from Leo LaPorte and others, you should just go straight to Windows 7.

simon trent
07-27-2009, 06:11 AM
I'm still on XP and am waiting to buy a new computer when Windows 7 is released. A friend of mine loves Vista, but I'm just assuming 7 is going to be even better.

Hochler
07-27-2009, 06:28 AM
7 is a huge improvement over Vista. Microsoft always saves the good stuff in case they bomb. First was 2000 after ME, now 7 after Vista.

Jason California
07-27-2009, 06:31 AM
I'm still on XP and am waiting to buy a new computer when Windows 7 is released. A friend of mine loves Vista, but I'm just assuming 7 is going to be even better.

You can star looking now. Many Vista machines are going to qualify for a free Windows 7 upgrade.

mike black
07-27-2009, 06:58 AM

All Dell PC's bought after the 15th of last month will be given a free update to Windows 7. I would imagine all of the major manufacturers are doing the same.

I realize Windows 7 isn't publicly available yet, but there's always someone out there with non-publicly-available info. So, question:

The RC is still available - completely free and completely legit and legal. It will not run out until June of next year, at which point you can purchase the retail version.

In addition, you can pre-order the OS right now from MS.