PDA

View Full Version : Question About Blackface In Comics.

Donal DeLay
12-21-2008, 11:22 AM
If you read a comic where all the black characters - including the protagonist - were done in blackface to represent the time period (a story set in the late 1800's-early 1900's) and perceptions of black people ... would it offend you, or would you not care as long as it wasn't done TO offend?

Or would you simply not read it at all because it used blackface?

Marcdachamp
12-21-2008, 11:25 AM
You're asking for controversy. If the characters are black, avoid blackface. I see what you're going for, but it just seems like you'd bring on way more problems than necessary.

I'm a journalism graduate. We were always taught to avoid using cursing in a story (even in quotes) unless it was absolutely pertinent to the story. I'd say follow that guideline.

Criden
12-21-2008, 11:25 AM
If you read a comic where all the black characters - including the protagonist - were done in blackface to represent the time period (a story set in the late 1800's-early 1900's) and perceptions of black people ... would it offend you, or would you not care as long as it wasn't done TO offend?

Depends how it was handled, I think. If it was very clearly *about* perceptions as opposed to the author having those perceptions, then sure, I wouldn't be offended, as long as it wasn't being employed in a problematic way. I thought Bamboozled was interesting, for instance.

Joe Kalicki
12-21-2008, 11:26 AM
I'm not sure I've ever been offended by anything.

Kedd
12-21-2008, 11:27 AM
Depends on what the story is. Blackface, to me, isn't offensive as a tool. But what it's being used for can be offensive. And yes, Bamboozled was interesting

The Hodag
12-21-2008, 11:27 AM