PDA

View Full Version : easiest way to learn guitar?

Jonny Z
03-27-2007, 08:53 AM
so every few years, i bust out my old electric guitar and try to re-learn how to play. i feel that impulse coming on again.

what do you suggest is the easiest way to learn? are there any good books or programs to use?

i'm the next jimmy page, you motherfuckers. help me bust him out.

Jacob Lyon Goddard
03-27-2007, 08:55 AM
before the age of 12

GelfXIII
03-27-2007, 08:56 AM
Michael row ... your boat asho....re...
G C G

Halle..... looooooooo..... YA!
G C G

Bill!
03-27-2007, 08:57 AM
Get yourself a 5 dollar chord book and just start learning how to use it. I'm self taught and can play pretty well. Started when I was 18 too.

Shane W
03-27-2007, 08:57 AM
If you're serious, take lessons.

If not, grab a DVD and book.

manbearpig
03-27-2007, 09:03 AM
Depends what you want to learn to play. If you want to learn to play leads and solos, pick up a scales book. If you want to play rhythym or songwrite, pick up a chords book. Or just get lessons.

NickBurgess
I would suggest learning to read tablature, learning how to make some basic chords, and then trying to learn some simple songs you like. Then work your way up.

It might also help to have a tuner if you can't tune by ear.

Doc Randy
The best advice I ever got was to ignore distortion, reverb, and effects pedals and focus on playing clean.

Jonny Z
03-27-2007, 09:04 AM
If you're serious, take lessons.

If not, grab a DVD and book.

yeah, good point... when i was 13, i used to take lessons from a guy that didn't hear that the grunge movement died. i wonder if he's still around.

NickBurgess
03-27-2007, 09:05 AM
Just come to my show next week and you will become a guitar god via osmosis.

manbearpig
03-27-2007, 09:06 AM
The best advice I ever got was to ignore distortion, reverb, and effects pedals and focus on playing clean.