PDA

View Full Version : Declaring your freelance work as a business and writing off expenses

Evan Wiener
02-24-2007, 09:44 PM
I'm a graphic designer with a full-time job, but I plan on making a push for more freelance design and illustration work this year. I could use some serious hardware and software upgrades in the next 6 months, and am looking to spend around $2200 on a Mac (my first! I'm switching!) and will need to spend about $1200 on Adobe's Creative Suite 3 (whenever that comes out).

So I talked to my accountant today, and he said that since I don't have employees, I don't need to get a tax ID. For freelance work, that is considered self-employed independent contract work, and any business expenses incurred for that income (separate from my full-time job) can be completely written off as a one-time expense against just the freelance income. Thankfully, it's not one of those things where you can only deduct a percentage up to a total, you can write the whole thing off from what I understand. However, all income that I make from freelancing is subject to income and self-employment taxes. The only questions I should have asked are:

What if I make $3000 freelancing and I have $3600 in expenses this year?
Is the income subject to the income & self-employment taxes, which in this case, would be a net of -$600?

Do I even need to pay any taxes on that since I'm operating at a loss for the first year?

Taxman
02-24-2007, 09:59 PM
Sounds like you have decided to file a a sole proprietor. If so, you have to report it whether it is a gain or a loss. Only a gain is subject to income and Social Security taxes.

If there is a loss, it reduces the tax on other income sources.

JoeE
02-24-2007, 10:02 PM
If you don't produce a profit in the next few years you may be subject to the hobby loss rules. Not immediately a concern, just something to think about for the future.

edwardmblake
02-24-2007, 10:08 PM